Why I’m not celebrating Australia Day this year

If I were Indigenous, I don’t think I would be able to celebrate Australia Day, the commemoration of the day when my country was invaded by foreign forces, starting a legacy of suffering that continues to this day. So as a descendant of invading forces, I’m sitting this one out.

Here are some perspectives on Invasion Day:

Here is an insight into how relations could be better:

Here is a comedy piece about why it’s ridiculous to ask Indigenous people to be part of celebrations (he is not himself Indigenous):

Leave a Reply

