The wilderness that is outside the library

silence-in-the-library-4

Last December I wrote a blog post about how 2013 was the year of the library, reposted here.

In 2013 I wasn’t moving forward. I felt like I was treading water and never putting roots down. In that post, I wrote about how 2013 had been the year of the library and I was ready to get out of the library and have some adventures.

Well, as they say, be careful what you wish for. This year has been so full of adventures that I’m a bit worn out. I have moved interstate and put roots down in the new place – not once but twice, meeting some people who I will know forever. I conducted fieldwork for the first time. My Djambarrpuyngu skills reached new heights. I started postgraduate work. Oh, and I fell in love for the first time since I was a teenager.

And while I have been doing all this in the real world, my inner life has also been racing around. Earlier this year, I wrote a blog post about my different forms of inspiration for writing. The most frenetic one I dubbed the Pixie. Normally she only comes for very short stints, which is good because it’s tiring to be dragged around by frenzied inspiration. But this year I feel like she’s visited me every second day.

It’s been an amazing year. I wouldn’t want to trade it for another. But I am ready to just calm down for a while, settle into a more plodding-style pace. I am going to work steadily on my thesis, which is due at the end of May. And after that I plan to work part-time and write the rest of the time, working on the two books that have been begging me to finish them*. Last year was a year of big starts. This is a year of gentle continuation.

*Resumptive pronoun.

Leave a Reply

